7 oct 2021

Billie Holiday, Lana Del Rey, Frank Ocean: the incredible album of Cat Power covers

The singer and songwriter with the golden voice and the equally legendary fringe, Chan Marshall aka Cat Power will release her new album, Covers, on January 14th. The opportunity to discover emotionally rich reinterpretations of Billie Holiday, Frank Ocean and Nick Cave.

Chan Marshall aka Cat Power is undoubtedly one of the most impressive artists of her generation when it comes to handling the delicate art of covering. She had shown with the powerful The Covers Record (2000) and Jukebox (2008) that she could make other people’s songs sound like they were her own, adorning them with crazy melancholy and sensitivity. Covers , which completes the trilogy and will be released on January 14, 2022, should not disappoint its fans. This is what the moving and inhabited reinterpretation of Frank Ocean unveiled live by the folk icon and his band last night on the Late Late Show with James Corden and available on YouTube suggests  . An intimate version of a Pogues track, which can already be streamed , also gives chills and allows us to hope for the best in this new collection of songs. 


Produced by Chan Marshall, Covers will also feature reinterpretations of Jackson Browne, Iggy Pop, The Replacements and The Rolling Stones (exclusively on the vinyl version) as well as artists who are personally close to the artist: Lana Del Rey and Nick Cave. Still in the emotional register, the 49-year-old American musician explains in the press release accompanying the announcement of the album’s release that her cover of Billie Holiday’s I’ll Be Seeing You, is dedicated to her friend and collaborator Philippe Zdar, who tragically passed away in 2019. She confides: “When people you love have been taken away from you, there is always a song that keeps their memory in your mind. It’s a conversation with those on the other side, and it’s really important for me to go and meet them in this way.” Last great news about Covers : Cat Power will update its own repertoire by renaming the song Hate from the precious The Greatest (2006), Unhate, as a sign of appeasement and maturity.


Covers of Cat Power, Domino, available January 14, 2022.


The tracklisting of the album Covers :


01 Bad Religion (Frank Ocean)

02 Unhate (Cat Power)

03 Pa Pa Power (Dead Man’s Bones)

04 White Mustang (Lana Del Rey)

05 A Pair of Brown Eyes (The Pogues)

06 Against the Wind (Bob Seger)

07 Endless Sea (Iggy Pop)

08 These Days (Jackson Browne)

09 It Wasn’t God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels (Kitty Wells)

10 I Had a Dream Joe (Nick Cave)

11 Here Comes a Regular (The Replacements)

12 I’ll Be Seeing You (Billie Holiday)