22 oct 2021

Cult pop band Animal Collective announces new album

Five years after the release of Painting With (2016), the band led by Panda Bear and Avey Tare announces the release of Time Skiffs, scheduled for February 4, 2022. The first single, a hypnotic track of more than six minutes entitled Prester John has just been unveiled, accompanied by a video.

In the music industry, there are pop groups launched in the 2000s which have gradually become either out of fashion or dissolved. Then there is Animal Collective. This one is not really a pop band strictly speaking,  has never sold millions of records and prefers to remain experimental rather than submit to the conventions of the genre. And this is undoubtedly the secret of its longevity. The fact remains that Animal Collective, after more than twenty years of good and loyal service in the world of pop, is back with an eleventh studio album… which promises to be as enjoyable as ever. 


We know the group formed by Avey Tare (David Portner), Panda Bear (Noah Lennox), Deakin (Josh Dibb) and Geologist (Brian Weitz) for its dreamlike aesthetic, its videos with saturated colors and its crazy and ultra-psychedelic music. It is therefore not surprising that the Brooklyn band announced today a new album, Time Skiffs, whose cover and the first single entitled Prester John suggest an opus under the sign of a journey – or even a trip. Directed by Jason Lester, the video for the track, which lasts more than six minutes, transports us to an enchanted forest, while the band plays its part in front of the camera. We will have to wait some time to discover the album in its entirety, since it will not be released until February 2022. Panda Bear and his comrades will start an American tour next spring.


Time Skiffs [Domino Recording] by Panda Bear, available on February 4, 2022.